Everything in Moderation…

It’s been several years since my last blog. I did not realize how long it had been. I’ve just been busy living life. Since then I have been “chasing rabbits” going from one new “guru” to the next, but that’s not a bad thing, in my opinion, that’s a good thing.  It means that I am learning. I am on my own life journey to happiness and health.

I have learned in these past years through all of this that you take what is best for you from all of the information that you get and from all of the teachers or gurus out there. It is not necessary to stick to just one person or follow just one person. Follow your own self.

And as far as mate is concerned… It has a lot of good properties to it and it will wake you up like lightning, but at my age I had to slow down with it, even stop drinking it because it had some adverse affects on me like I found myself having bouts of anxiety even to the point that my jaw was stiff. Not a good thing!

I read or heard 20160401_105110somewhere that when you ask a question to yourself the answer will come from within. So the answer did come to me about why I was having all of that anxiety or why it was being agravated in me. At first I thought it was just my compulsive thoughts getting the best of me (and that was true to some degree).  I heard that little inside voice saying “it’s the mate” and sure enough when I quit drinking it it stopped. What did I learn from this? The answer is listen to the voice inside you (whatever you want to call it) and to listen to your body. It will tell you what it needs.

Another thing that I have learned in these past 2-3 years is (and I had heard this before, but had not really paid attention to it) is life is what you make of it. We can sit there passively thinking that we are at the mercy of our compulsive thoughts and destiny or fate, but in reality we can choose what we think, what we do  and even our emotions. We have the power to make our life the way we want it to be. I think that most of the time what keeps us from doing anything is fear. That’s really what it boils down to. Fear of what will happen if we follow our dreams,fear of what other’s might say, fear of rejection, fear of failing.

I’ve spent a lot of my life that way until now I turned 57 this month and I decided that I’d had enough of fear. That I would take the “bull by the horns” and I mean that as in “a crock of #*#! What have I do fear, death? We are all going to croak eventually. So why not live life the way you dream? Why waste your time living in fear and living in quiet desperation dreaming all of your life of how you would like it to be? So I decided to seize the day and start to believe in me and believe in my dreams and go for it! I will not tell about what they are yet. I will tell you more as they unfold. In the mean time get out there and seize the day! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

